NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the annual championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference champions play with a best-of-seven game set to determine the league champion. The winners of these Finals are awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially Called the BAA Finals before the 1949–50 season when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The competition oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, as well as a short stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was originally structured at a two –2–1–1–1 structure. Back in 1985, to alleviate the amount of cross-country travel, it was changed to a 2–3–2 format, in which the first two and last two matches of the series were played at the arena of the team who made home-court benefit by having the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the two –2–1–1–1 structure has been revived. The first two games are played the higher-seeded team’s house, the following two at the house of the lower-seeded team, and the rest three are played at each team’s home arena . [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the many victories, having won the contest 17 times, as well as the many consecutive titles, winning 8 occasions from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the many times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the most winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Conference has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

Leave a Reply